Solar preparations, Lubbock, Texas.

2015 Field Season

Information about the 2015 Field Season coursework can be found online at: http://arch.ttu.edu/wiki/Land_Arts_2015


Journey 1
Chaco Caynon, New Mexico – 25-27 Aug
Muley Point, Cedar Mesa, Utah – 28-31 Aug
Moon House, Cedar Mesa, Utah – 31 Aug
Epicenter, Green River, Utah – 1-3 Sep
Spiral Jetty, Rozel Point, Great Salt Lake, Utah – 4-6 Sep
Sun Tunnels, near Lucin, Utah – 7 Sep
Wendover – CLUI, Utah – 7-13 Sep
Double Negative, Mormon Mesa, Nevada – 14-16 Sep
Las Vegas Piece, near Elgin, Nevada – 16 Sep
North Rim of the Grand Canyon, Arizona – 17-20 Sep
Cebolla Canyon, New Mexico – 21-23 Sep
Jackpile Mine, Laguna Pueblo, New Mexico – 23 Sep
Lubbock, Texas – 24 Sep-1 Oct

Journey 2
Adobe Alliance, Presidio, Texas – 3-5 Oct
Marfa, Texas – 6-11 OctAdobe Alliance – 8 Oct
Plains of San Agustin, New Mexico – 12-15 Oct
Very Large Array, near Datil, New Mexico – 13 Oct
The Lightning Field, near Quemado, New Mexico – 13-14 Oct
Mimbres River, New Mexico – 16-19 Oct
Chiricahua Mountains, Arizona – 20-23 Oct
Cabinetlandia, Deming, New Mexico – 24-27 Oct
Twin Buttes, White Sands, New Mexico – 28-29 Oct
Lubbock, Texas – 30 Oct

Detailed itinerary at: Land Arts 2015 Itinerary


Fiona Bennitt – art and geology student at Whitman College in Walla Walla, Washington
Henry Brown – artist with an MFA from the Rhode Island School of Design
Mark Freres – architect pursuing a masters degree at Texas Tech University
Nicholas Keys – artist from Australia with an MFA from Bard College
Caleb Lightfoot – architect pursuing a masters degree at Texas Tech University
Ashley May – artist pursuing an MFA at the University of California at Riverside
Sadie Richter – architect pursuing a masters degree at Texas Tech University

Emily Rabinowitz (Program Assistant)
Chris Taylor (Program Director)

Field Guests

Steve Badgett – artist from SIMPARCH
Curtis Bauer – poet and translator teaching at Texas Tech University
Matthew Coolidge – director of Center for Land Use Interpretation
Craig Dworkin – writer and professor of english at University of Utah
Gretchen Dietrich – director of the Utah Museum of Fine Arts
Curtis Francisco – geologist from Laguna Pueblo
Jack Forinash – Epicenter Principal of Housing
Barry Lopez – writer
Andrea Nasher – cultural activator
Monty Paret – art historian teaching at the University of Utah
Ann Reynolds – art historian teaching at University of Texas at Austin
Ingrid Schaffner – curator of the 57th Carnegie International
Deborah Stratman – artist teaching at University of Illinois at Chicago
Simon Swan — founder Adobe Alliance
Maria Sykes – Epicenter Principal of Arts & Culture