Tank farm (of sorts), Socorro, NM

Tank farm (of sorts), Socorro, NM

2014 Field Season

Information about the 2014 Field Season coursework can be found online at: http://arch.ttu.edu/wiki/Land_Arts_2014


Journey 1
Twin Buttes, White Sands, New Mexico
Cebolla Canyon, New Mexico
Jackpile Mine, Laguna Pueblo, New Mexico
Chaco Caynon, New Mexico
Muley Point, Cedar Mesa, Utah
Moon House, Cedar Mesa, Utah
Goblin Valley, Utah
Utah Museum of Fine Arts, Salt Lake City, Utah
Spiral Jetty, Rozel Point, Great Salt Lake, Utah
Sun Tunnels, near Lucin, Utah
Center for Land Use Interpretation, Wendover, Utah
Intrepid Potash, Wendover, Utah
Double Negative, Mormon Mesa, Nevada
Las Vegas Piece, near Elgin, Nevada
Point Sublime, North Rim of the Grand Canyon, Arizona
Lubbock, Texas

Journey 2
Cabinetlandia, Deming, New Mexico
Mimbres River, New Mexico
Chiricahua Mountains, Arizona
Dipping Vat Tank, Gila Wilderness, New Mexico
Plains of San Agustin, New Mexico
Very Large Array, near Datil, New Mexico
The Lightning Field, near Quemado, New Mexico
Chinati and Judd foundations, Marfa, Texas
Adobe Alliance, Presidio, Texas
Lubbock, Texas

Detailed itinerary at: Land Arts 2014 Itinerary


Michael Norris – architect pursuing a masters degree at Texas Tech University
Gabriela Reyes – architect pursuing a masters degree at Texas Tech University
J. Eric Simpson – artist with a bachelors degree from Texas Tech University
Matti Sloman – artist with a masters degree from the Rhode Island School of Design
Anthony Zuefeldt – architect pursuing a masters degree at Texas Tech University

Ted Carey (Program Assistant)
Chris Taylor (Program Director)

Field Guests

Steve Badgett – artist from SIMPARCH
Conrad Bakker – artist teaching at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Matthew Coolidge – director of Center for Land Use Interpretation
Dagny Corcoran – director of Art Catalogues at the Los Angeles County Museum of Art
Upe Flueckiger – architect teaching at Texas Tech University
Gretchen Dietrich – director of the Utah Museum of Fine Arts
Curtis Francisco – geologist from Laguna Pueblo
David Gregor – architect/maker at PORK New Orleans
Irene Hofmann – director of SITE Santa Fe
Barry Lopez – writer
Jimmy Luu – designer teaching at St. Edwards University
Andrea Nasher – cultural activator
Monty Paret – art historian teaching at the University of Utah
Reinhard Reitzenstein – artist teaching at the University of Buffalo
Ann Reynolds – art historian teaching at University of Texas at Austin
Deborah Stratman – artist teaching at University of Illinois at Chicago
Simone Swan – master builder and founder of Adobe Alliance
Whitney Tassie – curator at the Utah Museum of Fine Arts
Nichole Wiedemann – architect teaching at the University of Texas at Austin